Publique, venda, compre, baixe partituras e direitos de execução musical!

Fourth Piano Sonata

Clássico/Sonata • 2005

Fourth Piano Sonata

Título por Autor: Carson Cooman: Fourth Piano Sonata

19.95 USD

vendedor Musik Fabrik
PDF, 453.1 Kb ID: SM-000295783 data do carregamento: 01 set 2017
Composição para
Tipo de composição
For a single performer
1 para 3 de 3
Musik Fabrik
Fourth Piano Sonata (2005) was commissioned by and is dedicated to pianist Donna Amato.
The work is in three movements, each using the exact same musical material. Each movement presents a trajectory towards a greater integration of the disparate pieces of material.

The first movement, Mourning at Sunset, presents the basic material in clearly defined blocks. An opening section of forceful, declamatory chords alternates with a more lyrical section of interlocking lines. The forceful music returns before a slow, desolate section is presented. This builds to a small climax before dying down again. The opening then returns.

The second movement, Beyond Distant Echoes, is slow and ethereal. Sounds of distant gongs alternate with brittle, spasmodic interjections.

The third movement, Whispers of Mortality, is inspired by the finale of Frederic Chopin's Piano Sonata in B-flat minor. It is fast and fleeting and "too short." The musical material has transformed into pure running roulades of raw notes. The movement evaporates into the uppermost register.
  • comentários