Publique, venda, compre, baixe partituras e direitos de execução musical!

Concerto for bass trombone and six players – score and parts, Op.678

Clássico/Concerto • 2006

Concerto for bass trombone and six players – score and parts

Título por Autor: Carson Cooman: Concerto for bass trombone and six players – score and parts, Op.678

32.95 USD

vendedor Musik Fabrik
PDF, 1.27 Mb ID: SM-000320785 data do carregamento: 27 dez 2017
Clarinete, Viola, Violoncelo, Contrabaixo, Alto Flute, Percussão
Composição para
Solo, Sexteto
Tipo de composição
Partitura completa, Partes
1 para 1 de 1
Musik Fabrik
Alto Flute
Clarinet in Bb
Percussion (1 player):
bass drum, marimba, crotales
(Percussionist needs one rosined bow for crotales.)

Concerto for Bass Trombone and Six Players (2006) was commissioned by the Carnegie Mellon School of Music for the Carnegie Mellon Contemporary Ensemble, Walter Morales, director. The work is dedicated to trombonist Jim Siders, for whom the solo part was written.

The work is scored for solo bass trombone with an ensemble of primarily “dark” instruments – alto flute, clarinet, viola, cello, contrabass, and percussion. The solo bass trombone is the focal point of the musical discourse, acting throughout largely as a protagonist – with much
material best described as bitterly lyrical. The work maintains a generally dark, obsessive, and bitter tone throughout.

Unlike some concerti, however, the work is not about an aggression between soloist and the rest of the ensemble. Rather the bass trombone is “first” among a collection of like minded individuals – all expressing the same sentiments and aggressions.

The opening section is marked “spasmodic.” Quiet nervous twitches serve as a backdrop to a melodic unfolding of the basic material and interval content. The end of this part “breaks apart” to reveal a section marked “slow, otherworldly.” The harmonic material starts modal, open, and “distant” in feeling (perhaps a recollection of a distant past) before becoming gradually gnarled again.

The trombone leads towards the next section: an ever-building athletic “moto perpetuo.” This reaches its peak in an aggressive and horribly angry climax – with a wide-ranging trombone part marked “wildly raving; insane, ugly”, obliterated by bass drum hits and shrieking hammer blows from the other instruments.

A nervous and timid interlude returns to the nervous twitching of the opening – though everything is slightly slower and more hushed than before, finally breaking off into an enigmatic coda.
  • comentários